Skip to main content

Curriculum & Instruction

Common Core State Standards

California is one of 45 states nationwide to adopt the new Common Core State Standards (CCSS) in English/Language Arts and mathematics.   This shift in teaching has been characterized by some as “the most significant change to classroom instruction since 1998,” when California first adopted its own academic standards.  Click the Common Core link above to learn more about the standards and how the Oceanside Unified School District is implementing Common Core in the classroom.

Common Core Assessment

        SBAC Field Test

Starting in the Spring of 2015, Common Core standards for students in grades 3-5 and grade 11 will be assessed using an exam created by the Smarter Balanced Assessment Consortium (SBAC).

The SBAC assessment will be computer adaptive. The assessment will begin by delivering a short series of moderately difficult grade-level test items to the student. Then, depending on the student’s initial performance, subsequent questions will be either more or less difficult. This process will continue until the student’s level of proficiency is determined. The assessment will be administered during the last 12 weeks of the school year. The assessment will consist of two parts: a computer adaptive test and a performance task that will also be taken on a computer, but will not be computer adaptive.